Brett Ratliff to be featured on Oxford American's Kentucky Music Issue CD

Very proud to announce that Brett's song "Shut Up in the Mines of Coal Creek" will be featured on the Oxford American Kentucky Music Issue CD this November, along with tracks by Sturgill Simpson, Freakwater, Loretta Lynn, Dwight Yoakam, Jean Ritchie, and more!

Full track list:

  1. Be Proud of the Gray in Your Hair
    Dave Evans
  2. Sea Stories
    Sturgill Simpson
  3. Can I Say It Again
    Soul Walkers
  4. By the Ohio
    Joan Shelley
  5. Rainbows
    James Lindsey FEAT. Cicily Bullard
  6. Beacon
    Matt Duncan
  7. It’s Me Not You
    The Torques
  8. Me Hungry
    King Kong
  9. My Old Drunk Friend
  10. Camp Nelson Blues
    Booker Orchestra
  11. I’m Going to Organize, Baby Mine
    Sarah Ogan Gunning
  12. Shut Up in the Mines of Coal Creek
    Brett Ratliff
  13. Women’s Prison
    Loretta Lynn
  14. Shady Grove
    Jean Ritchie
  15. Down to the Bone
    Legendary Shack Shakers
  16. Rich Wife Full of Happiness
    Bonnie “Prince” Billy
  17. Forsaken Lover
    The Phipps Family
  18. I’m a Poor Li’l Orphan in this Worl’
    Julia Perry (Performed by Shirley Verrett) 
  19. Some Dark Holler
    Dwight Yoakam FEAT. the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
  20. It Never Stopped in in My Home Town
    Les McCann
  21. Blind
    Pleasure Unit
  22. Wondrous Love
    Pine Mountain Girls’ Octet
  23. Pretty Polly
    Locust Grove Octet
  24. Cancion Mixteca
    Harry Dean Stanton
  25. Eights
    Rachel Grimes
  26. Love is Strange (Live)
    The Everly Brothers
  27. Y’All Come
    Bill Monroe & the Bluegrass Boys


Release show at The Burl in Lexington, Kentucky on November 28! Details on flier below.

Travis Kitchens